What if Ghosts Aren’t Visitors?

space timeMy father always told me he would come to the foot of my bed after he passed away. He’s been gone for over 40 years and he has never returned, yet I have seen apparitions of people I have never known.  I’ve always wondered why. I’ve heard a lot of explanations for why the spirits of some people remain on earth. I’m sure you have too.

Last night, as I was pondering this, it suddenly occurred to me that maybe ghosts and spirits don’t actually return. Oh, I’m not trying to argue that ghosts don’t exist. I think they do – I’m just not sure saying they remain or linger on earth is the right way to describe it.

What if heaven, earth and the great hereafter all occupy the same space? What if going to heaven or passing on doesn’t mean the spirit goes to another place? What if the essence of the person simply slips into another dimension that occupies the same space?

What if whether we observe a spirit (or ghost – if you will) has nothing to do with the wishes of the dearly departed but rather depends on some other variable, such as blip in the space-time continuum? What if ghosts aren’t visitors at all, but are merely carrying on with their lives and somehow become visible in our reality?

 

 

Hey! What do you have to say, today?

