Weird sounds in wall are spooking me…

Not my actual house!

 

We’ve all heard the eerie stories of hauntings where the homeowners hear weird scratching and growling in the walls of the home. If you are anything like me, the thought probably creeps you out a bit.

I have some weird noises going on and I sincerely hope someone can give me a logical explanation for them.  It begins with scratching in the wall that under normal circumstances I would attribute to a mouse. I live in a old house and they often sneak in for the winter. I also have a cat that is very good mouser and typically keeps them under control. However, I’m willing to accept that part of what I’m hearing is a mouse that she hasn’t found yet. But – there is something weird about the sounds.

When I hear the scratching sounds, which can last for 20 minute or so at night, I also hear a weird buzzing sound in the wall. When I first heard it, I thought it was a big old fly or bee around the window frame buzzing to get out, but it’s not.  I don’t know how else to describe the sound other than a buzzing, fluttering sound. Sometimes it is quite loud. It has been happening off an on for months, maybe even years.

I didn’t think much of it during the summer. I just figured it was some flying insect trapped and trying to escape – but when it continued and the temps dropped below zero, I knew it couldn’t be any kind of bug. I also knew it would be highly unlikely that I would only hear it when I heard the scratching. It moves to different locations in the wall and to the opposite wall.

There are no electrical wires or plumbing in that location. Both walls are outside walls. The attic is above the room.  I never hear the buzzing without also hearing the scratching sounds.

So now it’s your turn. Please debunk these weird sounds for me!

Hey! What do you have to say, today?

