Halloween History: How the Jack O’Lantern was born

This isn’t exactly breaking news this morning, but SyFy’s 31 Days to Halloween promotion started me thinking about the whole concept of why we celebrate Halloween. While doing a little research, I came upon the story that inspired the Jack O’Lantern and found it so interesting I decided to write about it. You can read about it in Halloween History: How the Jack O’Lantern was born .

I’m not sure if I will do anything for Halloween, besides watching a few spooky shows. When my kids were little we added a few decorations and visited a haunted house or two, but it was never a big deal (other than the trick-or-treating part) at our house.

What about you? Do you have Halloween traditions that your family can’t miss out on? I’d love to hear your stories.

Hey! What do you have to say, today?

