Ghost Cats and Phantom Squeals

Just when I had begun to believe that any odd occurrences in my home were either a figment of my imagination or some weird illusion – it happened again. This time it was a sound.

My husband – the skeptic – and my daughter were watching TV in the living room while I was at work in my office. A large open archway connects the two rooms, so I am able to look into the living room to the couch area.

Suddenly, I heard this loud squeal that I naturally thought was part of the show they were watching and didn’t think much of it – until they both uttered “What was that sound?” From my vantage point, I could see both the dog – who was lying quietly, and the cat – who was asleep on the bed.

Their explanation was that it sounded like it came from the side of the couch and that they both thought my cat had been injured – sending them into a bit of panic.

We have no idea where the sound came from – although we all heard it from the same general area – and couldn’t find anything to cause it.

I do know that when we first moved in here three years ago I thought I saw a ghost cat on several occasions – but haven’t seen it in a long while. I kinda chalked it up to an overactive imagination spurred on by getting used to the natural shadows of the house, but now it has me wondering.

Hey! What do you have to say, today?

