Friendly Ghosts or Deceptive Spirits?

As Ghost Hunters’s winds down the year with their Bethlehem investigation, I find myself wondering exactly why we are all so fascinated with the thought of ghosts and spirits living among us.

As you know, it has always been difficult for me to reconcile my belief in some unknown beings inhabiting our living space with my Christian beliefs. I find myself at odds – knowing full well there is more than meets the eye in this world, but not knowing – or wanting to believe – it is really the spirit of those who have passed on.

I am always a bit uneasy when Jay and Grant so casually tell clients that they have nothing to fear and that any entities present are harmless. I don’t know how they can say that. I don’t know how they can conclude that the spirits are friendly with a few hours of investigating.

It bothers me because common sense tell me that if a ghost or spirit were dangerous, it just might pretend otherwise. Perhaps it is my Christian upbringing that makes me believe that ghosts and spirits are better left alone – perhaps it is my ignorance that fuels the uneasy feeling that they may not be so benign – perhaps it is my own past experiences that color my perceptions of the paranormal.

It’s not that I don’t believe there are harmless spirits – its just that it seems reasonable to me that those who intend to cause harm probably wouldn’t be upfront and honest about it. It seems likely that they would be deceptive. So, I am left with the nagging feeling that maybe – just maybe – we shouldn’t be so quick to accept that all is fine.

Hey! What do you have to say, today?

