Evidence of an Unseen Visitor?

It’s been a while since I’ve posted, mostly because I’ve been busy and partly because nothing unusual has happened here in a long time. Oh, there may have been an unusual noise or two, a lamp that unplugs itself and a disappearing cover to a roasting pan that still hasn’t returned. But those things are old hat now. They really aren’t worth mentioning.

What happened this morning is. Some of you may recall my experience with getting up in the morning and discovering the burner to my gas stove burning brightly. You may even recall that it freaked me out a bit because the knob needs to be depressed and then turned to light the burner. Somehow, I rationalized the experience. Even though I knew I was the last person to bed that night and had stood in the kitchen to turn out the lights–and the burner was NOT lit. I told myself that I must have accidentally leaned up against the stove pushing the knob in and then turned (turning the knob in the process) and it must have ignited after I had gone to bed. Not a likely scenario, of course–but it served me well in the face of no other explanations.

Well, it happened again. This time, I am sure that I did not lean up against the stove before going to bed. I checked the laundry and hung up a shirt to dry for morning, double-checked that the candle on the stove was out, turned out the lights and went to bed. The burner was NOT on and hadn’t been used all day.

I don’t want to think about some unseen hand turning the knob to my stove. I don’t want to think about ghostly beings or spiritual entities roaming the corridors of my home while I sleep, but I am really stumped.

So how does the burner turn on without the aid of a human hand? Someone, debunk this for me please.

Hey! What do you have to say, today?

