Ghost Hunters August 19

It was great to see Jay and Grant again, but tonight’s show left me a bit unsettled. The whole idea of seeking out and provoking an inhuman spirit and then telling the family they don’t think the spirit is really inhuman, but is probably a ghost trying to scare them wasn’t very reassuring.

It seems that the earlier messages they appeared to receive from a spirit who said he was being held against his will were brushed aside.

I don’t know about you, but it seemed rushed and lacked any excitement from Jay and Grant.

I remember the days when they got excited about ghost hunting. Back then, the interactions seemed genuine, but now it seems to lack that old fire and enthusiasm. I liked the old shows better where we actually got to watch them investigate. When they found evidence or EVPs we saw their faces light up.

I don’t know, maybe it’s just me.

I want to believe they are genuine and honest in the show, but I have the nagging feeling that something is missing. Something is off. I want to see the old excitement and thrill they had for what they do and I watch each week in hopes of seeing it again.

Have they changed? Does SyFy exerts too much control? I’d love to hear what you think.

4 thoughts on “Ghost Hunters August 19

  1. I found myself feeling the same thing last season about the show lacking… something. Then again, if you were to count up all the investigations they’ve done since they’ve been on – maybe it isn’t that much of a thrill to them as it is for us? Who knows.

    As for their opinion on the first episode, who’s to say they were right or wrong – it was an opinion they shared with the client and gave advice. I could see an entirely different way of going about it if the group had been Paranormal State…

    • I tend to agree with you. I fear that filming puts a lot of pressure on the team. Grant looked especially tired last season. I just want to see them enjoy “the hunt” again.

  2. I feel that they are not being honest with the entities. They say “we are here to help you”, yet there is no help. Might as well say “we are here to exploit you”.

Hey! What do you have to say, today?

