Mirrors and Portals to the Spirit World

I’ve done a little poking around to see what I can find about mirrors as portals to the spirit world. I didn’t exactly find a lot of information from what I would consider reliable sources. I find this both relieving and a little frustrating.

I’m relieved that maybe I don’t have to dash past my mirror every night, but frustrated that some have thrown it out there, but have nothing to back it up.

So far, I have determined that there is a group of people who believe mirrors are portals to the spirit world. One prerequisite appears to be that it must be a stationary mirror that has a solid backing and it must have been in place for a period of time.

Now, I’m not sure exactly what would make one mirror a portal and another mirror not, but I can tell you that I’m not taking any chances. I’m moving my mirror on a regular basis.

I discovered a few references to those who use mirrors to call up spirits or to see spirit guides. This is another topic altogether, as far as I’m concerned.

Apparently, the superstition of breaking a mirror bringing bad luck has its roots in the belief that spirits exist in another realm behind the glass. When a mirror is shattered those spirits are set free in your home.

An opposing theory of the origin of this superstition suggests that at one time mirrors were extremely expensive to make. Only the wealthy could afford a large mirror in the home. In an attempt to discourage carelessness, wealthy home owners convinced superstitious servants/slaves that breaking a mirror would bring seven years bad luck.

It seems likely that the combination of these two theories has fueled the belief that breaking a mirror carries with it certain bad luck.

Perhaps the belief of mirrors as portals to the spirit world has its roots in the superstitious beliefs of long ago, that were merely fabricated to control the actions of those who didn’t know any better.

Perhaps there is evidence out there, that I have yet to access, that would indicate otherwise.

For now, it seems that moving a stationary mirror to a new location on a regular basis just might prevent the spirit world from entering your home.

17 thoughts on “Mirrors and Portals to the Spirit World

  1. Okay this has happened to me & my husband involving a mirror. It was given to us by a friend of my husband’s. He gave it to us as a form of repayment for some money borrowed it was one of a room full of furniture he gave us to hold until he was able to repay us the money. He never did repay us just bought himself more furniture. We unloaded most of his stuff however this neat old mirror was something we chose to keep. Nothing really happened except at the end of our stay in our apt. we knew was(we’d had a few experiences) haunted. We were sleeping on the floor on a mattress we had kept to stay one last night in the apt. we were woken up in the middle of the night to this sound like locusts getting louder. It was weird & kinda creepy but we just went back to sleep. We mentioned it to a friend and I told her I had the distinct feeling the sound was coming from the mirror. Well just today(10/9/2015 as a matter of fact I’d recently had my home “cleansed” by Christian friends(awesome prayer warriors gifted with God’s guidance and discerning of spirits. I had the nagging feeling that the now as I write was something to be concerned about as I had a nagging feeling that something with it “wasn’t right” So I asked my neighbor who is sensitive to spirits(feeling the presence of them) she agreed to come to my home and do a walk through. “Yes this mirror is a portal”, she said,and showed me the goosebumps up & down her arms down her arms and I got them too. But she said it’s not necesarily good good or bad. It needs cleansed with anointing oil(olive oil that is prayed over and blessed is fine) and she holy water and salt saying to mix the salt & holy water and to put it along the 4 corners of the mirror & to use it to make the sign of the cross in the center of it and then to go clockwise in a circular motion along the whole of the mirror to make the cleansing complete. Then to light a black candle and command the negativity to leave and close the mirror off to any negativity coming back in then to light a white candle and speak the positive, good energy and all things pleasing to the Lord to be the only things aloud to come through the portal. We also went through my house and I literally had to remove 2 mirrors in my home those 2 mirrors totally CREEPED her out she said without a second thought to GET THEM OUT OF MY HOUSE NOW ! She didn’t have to say it twice. I asked her what to do she said it is NOT to burn or break these things they have to be buried and to place archangle michael medallions or pins( I found the pins at PinMart , very fairly priced @10 for $28 + $3.95S/H ) and then to ask archangel Michael to protect & keep me & my family and all who enter my home safe. I plan to do all she suggested as soon as I receive the pins. This world is getting crazier by the day who needs the added troubles like that ? I certainly don’t and absolutely do not want to allow anymore of this into my home. It causes much discontent in our lives and I want peace and tranquility here. The mirror in this room was left here when we bought our home and the other 2 were acquired at garage sales. Those are the places to be careful hen making purchases because you don’t who you’re dealing with or possibly what they don’t realize is attached to the items they are selling. Anyway this is food for thought for all who read this. I hope you find this helpful. I know I have. And I would be happy to give you some feedback on how things are going as time passes since the removal of the 2 mirrors and the cleansing of the mirror here in this room. God Bless, teyzgauir@aol.com

  2. Mirror info is hard to verify! I came upon this post b/c I’m making a paranormal themed diorama with two opposing mirrors with the thought that the opposition creates a doorway for spirits. I’ve always used mirrors to deflect energy and move the Qi around but really have no reference for avoiding placing two mirrors facing each other except from my Grandmother. I’d like to find one. Thanks for your post!

Hey! What do you have to say, today?

