Mirrors… Portals to the Spirit World?

Last night, I spent some time reading a few of my favorite paranormal sites. Why is it that we are always drawn to these at night time when we are alone?

Anyway, I was reading about mirrors being portals to the spirit world. Admittedly, I need to do some research on this topic before I begin to form any opinions about the possibility.

I can tell you that the thought freaked me out. You see, my bedroom has a large mirror above my dresser. The mirror in itself was not the issue. It was the fact that my bedroom is a large open area at the top of the stairs and there is no light switch to the room, only an old fashioned chain that must be pulled.

This requires me to walk across the room, in the dark, to turn on the light. But what really bothered me was the fact that when I pulled the chain to turn on the light, I would be facing the mirror. In fact, I would have to walk towards the mirror in the dark to get to the chain.

Aah. you see my problem already. I was more than a little nervous.

Those of you who know me already know that I have no problems with ghosts and spirits in someone else’s house. In fact, they fascinate me. I’ve even gone on a ghost hunt and traipsed around in the darkness looking for a ghost. It was fun.

But, when it comes to my house, I want nothing to do with invisible beings that might choose my mirror as a portal.

I found a solution. I walked up the dark stairs, closed my eyes tightly and felt my way to my bed. I crawled in and pulled the covers over my head without so much as a glance at the mirror.

Ha! Maybe spirits do use my mirror as portal, but that doesn’t mean I have to look at them.

Check back soon to find out what I’ve turned up in my research about mirrors as portals to the spirit world.

13 thoughts on “Mirrors… Portals to the Spirit World?

  1. Its very hard for me to beleive what u guys said but i beleive that spirits exist,and i my self felt the presence of them only without a vivid visual

  2. my mother always told me never put a mirror (any mirror new or old ) on top of the stairs as it will bring spirits into the house , good + bad ! , i never thought anything of it but my auntie has one on top of her stairs + i can feel the presents of a ghost, i thought i was being crazy at first but my mum + others felt it to , so we told my auntie to put the mirror somewhere else and we no longer feel it as strong

  3. I was at m
    y friends house. And we were playing guitar hero. Then we stopped then sat on her couch, and started talking about this guy she likes. No one was home but me her and her little six year old sister which was asleep in the other room all the way on the other side of the house. so we were sitting there and I swore that some one was in the kitchen behind us. I kept looking behind me sensing that some one was standing behind us but when i looked….no one was there. I asked her if her sister was awake or if her parents got home from work, but no one was home and her sister was still asleep. So we kept talking. Then she looked behind her and screamed so then i looked to then we started crying. We seen a women with long black hair leaning over the couch, right by my head! We were terrified. we called her mom and told her what happend and she didnt believe us! She said that we were just tired and needed to go to bed cause it was like ten a clock at night. so we ran to her room cause we were realllllly scared. then layed in her bed with the blankets over our heads. The next day we invited our friend Ashley over cause we were to scared to be alone. and we got on lime wire. and only cd’s skip right? not computer songs. we were listening to the song and it started skipping and saying over and over “get out get out get out get out.” The song doesnt even say get out in it!!! we looked at eachother and screamed then ran out side. Then i asked her if she has ever played with a ouija board. and she hasnt but her cousin has. then I told her to get that thing out of her house!!! it was in the attic! we walked to my house and talked about it the whole way there. What the hell is up with her house?! help me find out?

  4. My niece leaves with my sister in a second floor apartment that priorly was our apartment and we left due to an argument with the land oner which was my step dad .Wella couple of weeks ago my niece started to see a woman in her dresser mirror and told her mom my sister to tell her to leave. then yesturday she was sleeping and woke up and call her mom to her room saying that her cousin ,my small daughter was standing in her room in front of her bed wearing a white dress and keept on telling her mom dont you see her? What does this mean what should my sister do?

Hey! What do you have to say, today?

